Difference Between ISO 9000 and ISO 9001 (With Table)

The term “quality management” refers to a system of activities that helps businesses and organizations determine how well they are meeting the expectations of their customers and stakeholders. ISO 9000 and ISO 9001 are international standards for quality management systems that are exceedingly similar, yet they are different too.

ISO 9000 vs ISO 9001

The main difference between ISO 9000 and ISO 9001 is that ISO 9000 is a series of standards that defines the quality management system required for a company to become certified with the standard, whereas ISO 9001 is an international standard for quality management systems that was first released in 1987.

The companies choose to implement an ISO 9000 quality management system to improve their operational efficiency. The resulting certification is a useful way for companies to show their customers that they are committed to providing products and services of consistently high quality.

ISO 9001 is one of several management system standards published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). It provides a widely-used set of guidelines for companies seeking to improve their quality management practices. The standard contains a set of requirements for a quality management system of any size and type.

Comparison Table Between ISO 9000 and ISO 9001

Parameters of Comparison

ISO 9000

ISO 9001


ISO 9000 is an aggregate of quality management standards that provides an internationally accepted framework for ensuring the integrity of products and services.

ISO 9001 is a conformity assessment methodology concerned with assessing whether an organization’s products, services, and manufacturing processes conform to set requirements or not.


ISO 9000 standard is to make sure that the quality management system is compatible with international standards.

ISO 9001 is a great quality management system because it aims to help organizations become certified with the ISO 9000 standard.


It is not limited to specific industries or procedures.

It is limited to specific industries or procedures.


It is split into 5 fragments.

It is split into 2 fragments.


Manufacturing, construction projects, healthcare services, food production, and retail stores.

Customer relations, management, and decision finalizing.

What is ISO 9000?

ISO 9000 is a standard for quality management systems. It can help organizations ensure that the products and services they provide are delivered consistently. Moreover, it establishes the standards of good practice across all types of organizations that produce goods and services.

ISO 9000 is the world’s most widely used quality management system. It began when the International Organization for Standardization, a global consortium of national standards organizations in over 100 countries, was formed. The organization was formed by 51 national standards bodies from Europe and North America to define how organizations can integrate quality into their operations. Since then, ISO 9000 has been ratified by more than 150 national standards bodies globally, including the United States certification bodies, a third of all economies.

Companies also benefit from ISO’s recognition of and support for reduction, reuse, and recycling. Since the adoption of ISO, ISO 9000 has been adopted as an umbrella standard. Consistent quality standards make it easier for suppliers to meet customers’ demands while reducing time spent on paperwork and negotiations around contract terms. Retailers and distributors can use these consistent standards to ensure that their customers receive the same quality level at all times, instead of having to check documents from multiple suppliers regularly.

What is ISO 9001?

ISO 9001 establishes a quality management system that is based on customer satisfaction. It is a guideline that describes how organizations should approach their business operations about meeting customer requirements. It also emphasizes the need for an organization to provide constant improvement in the way they do business, with the goal of long-term gains such as improving operational efficiency and reducing costs.

ISO 9001 is divided into two main parts implementation part 1 and continued development part 2. Part 1 contains requirements that are mandatory for all companies to be certified under ISO 9001. These guidelines help companies to identify, analyze and solve problems, as well as continuously improve their quality management system and thus the products or services they offer.

ISO 9000 is a series of standards for quality management that define the structure and basic principles of an organization’s quality management system. Companies certified to ISO 9001 are evaluated based on the process used to achieve customer satisfaction. It’s used to verify a company’s quality assurance process and ensure that it can provide consistently high-quality products or services.

Main Differences Between ISO 9000 and ISO 9001

  1. ISO 9000 is a standard of quality management that is used globally in the field of business, whereas ISO 9001 is an implementation standard for this quality management system.
  2. ISO 9000 is designed to help organizations that need to implement a quality system that can be effectively implemented and continually improved, whereas, The ISO 9001 is designed on four key quality management principles customer focus, leadership, process approach, and continual improvement.
  3. ISO 9000 does not have any restrictions on a particular industry, whereas ISO 9000 has any restrictions on a particular industry.
  4. The fragments of ISO 9000 are five, whereas the fragments of ISO 9001 are two.
  5. The illustrations of ISO 9000 encompass healthcare, food, retail, and manufacturing, whereas the illustrations of ISO 9001 encompasses settlement, management, client relations, and internal inspections.


The broad focus of ISO is to develop and publish international standards that help provide solutions to problems faced by businesses and organizations worldwide. The series encompasses six standards in three categories ISO 9000 requirements, which outline basic principles for quality control, ISO 9002, which states the requirements for an organization when performing quality assurance.

ISO 9000 includes guidelines for how a company’s products and services should be managed to meet the needs of customers, ensuring that there are no negative effects on these products. ISO 9001 guides how companies should manage their quality-related processes, including information flow and communication via a hierarchy.


  1. https://www.jstor.org/stable/43604294
  2. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0272696309000321
  3. https://www.emerald.com/insight/content/doi/10.1108/02656710110407127/full/html